Sports Achiever of the Year 2014

SAOTY 2014

Boys Under 18 Award – Kayne Stanway,  Ski MK Race team

Girls Under 18 Award – Fee Teng Liew,  Vampires Badminton Club

Men Over 18 Award – Ben Aldred,  Milton Keynes Canoe Club

Women Over 18 Award – Devon Byrne,  Marshall MK Athletics Club

Disabled Men Award – Josh Sprules,  Bletchley Rugby Club

Disabled Women and Girls Award – Tyler-Leigh Patmore,  MK BMX Club

Special School Award – Slated Row

Primary School Award – Hanslope Primary School

Secondary School Award – Denbigh School

Coach Of The Year Award – Jenny Christmas,  Springers Gymnastic Club

Team Of The Year Award – Stantonbury Campus Boys Badminton Team

Service To Sport Award –  Alex Ferrada,  MK BMXRace Team

Club Of The Year Award – MK BMX Racing Club

Volunteer of the Year – Alan Armitage,  Arabian School of Gymnastics

2014 Sports Personality Of The Year Award

Chris and Gabby Adcock [Badminton]

NOV 27 2014 BADMINTON 001

Badminton’s golden couple lifted the Sports Personality of the Year award, in recognition of their mixed doubles gold medal at the Commonwealth Games in Glasgow. The award was presented by David Hildreth and Jim Mann.

For the first time this year, the ‘Sport in Art’ award was handed out to IDI Gazeley for their innovative ‘Leaping Man’ statue on the A421, depicting Greg Rutherford’s Olympic gold medal long jump from London 2012.Among the special guests on the night was Sebastian Vettel’s world championship winning Red Bull Racing RB6 from 2010.

Chair of Sport Milton Keynes Marie Collins MBE described the event as the best yet.

She said: “A lot of this success is down to Suzanne Williams and Karl Saunders and their team from Chameleon in Linford Wood.

“They have produced a spectacular production for us. This together with our own dedicated volunteers and generous sponsors has made this a brilliant evening.”

The Awards were supported by:- The Hildreth family, The Hockey Foundation Trust -Tony Billson,  Chameleon – Suzanne Williams,  Jim Mann,  Dons Set – John Cove,  Milton Keynes Couriers – Paul Howe,  Santander – Dasos Kirtsides,  MK School Sports Partnership,  MK School Federation,  LEAP – Mark Ormerod,  Infiniti Red Bull Racing – Christian Horner,  MK Business Leaders – Dr Phil Smith,  Tudor Cowley.

Trophies were supported by:-  Marshall Amplification – Jonathan Ellery MD

Photo’s from the evening:

MKFM have done really great coverage of our Awards evening; the following link will take the reader to some great photos and interviews with the Mayor and Award Winners.